Taren Point Public School

Telephone02 9524 6379


Curriculum and Initiatives

Primary learning incorporates whole-class, group and individual activities designed to develop an inquiring mind and teach basic learning skills needed for schooling and later life. Knowing what your children are learning helps you support them throughout their education.

Literacy and numeracy are the building blocks of learning and as such are the school's priority curriculum areas. This being said, we pride ourselves on providing a well rounded suite of mandated curriculum subjects and extra-curricular opportunities. Kindergarten to Year 6 students focus on eight key learning areas:

The curriculum is undergoing a phase of change and this page will be updated as required.

Primary school in NSW follows a curriculum based on stages of learning. Each stage is equivalent to two school years. For each learning stage there are skills, knowledge and a level of understanding that each student should develop.

  • Early Stage 1 refers to Kindergarten
  • Stage 1 includes Years 1 and 2
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6